A RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Daufuskie Island Council supports the Daufuskie Island Plan as a planning tool to guide decision making regarding the development of Daufuskie Island; and

WHEREAS, The Daufuskie Island Plan identifies as a high priority item the gaining of title on unclaimed, nondeeded prescriptive easements currently being maintained by Beaufort County; and

WHEREAS, The Daufuskie Island Plan, representing 6 years of public meetings and deliberation, identifies Prospect Road as a road that Beaufort County currently holds a recorded deed for a portion of the roadway; and

WHEREAS, The Daufuskie Island Plan identifies Prospect Road as a road for which Beaufort County has maintained adverse possession for more than 50 years and could therefore claim rights via prescriptive easement

WHEREAS, The 1985 Daufuskie Island Plan, produced by the Beaufort County Joint Planning Commission identified Prospect Road that had, at that time, been maintained by Beaufort County for at least 20 years; and

WHEREAS, The Daufuskie Island Plan further described Prospect Road as a "major existing road' and recommended that it remain a major thoroughfare and become a Right-of-Way for Daufuskie Island as the Island grows; and

WHEREAS, after heavy rains Prospect Road is often the only non-paved road that remains passable for nearby residents and allows them reach a paved road, and therefore losing the road could result in life-threatening consequences should Daufuskie experience a tropical storm or hurricane; and

WHEREAS, Prospect Road is a major thoroughfare in Daufuskie Island's Historic District, representing a unique area with a rich cultural and historical significance that is important to both residents and visitors; and

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED That the Daufuskie Island Council respectfully requests that the County reject the current proposal under consideration that would remove a portion of Prospect Road from the County Maintenance inventory.

Adopted by vote of the Daufuskie Island Council on this day, February 27th, 2016

Charlie Small – Chairman Chuck Hunter – Vice Chairman Steve Hill - Secretary Len Pojednic, Treasurer Tina Fine Dave Hutton John Schartner Deborah Smith